Skip to main content
Main content

The Eels Cup

Photo: Grant Trouville © NRL photos
Photo: Grant Trouville © NRL photos

The Eels Cup is an Under 16s Secondary Schools Rugby League competition in the Northern Territory, which commenced in 2014 as part of the ongoing partnership between the Parramatta Eels and the Northern Territory Government.

Katherine High School have are the reigning Eels Cup champions, having won the competition in both 2014 and 2015. 

In 2016, 8 Schools will compete for the NT Eels Cup with the Grand Final scheduled for Saturday 11th June as the curtain raiser match to the Parramatta Eels vs Gold Coast Titans at TIO Stadium in Darwin.

Plans are also underway to expand the Eels cup to include primary schools gala days in Katherine and Darwin as part of the Blue and Gold's commitment to grow the sport in #eelsterritory.

Eels Cup 2016 Draw: 

Game 1 - Weds, March 9th 

Katherine High School (36) def. Palmerston Secondary School (26)

Game 2 - Tues, March 15th

Casuarina Senior College (22) def. Taminmin College (14)

Game 3 - Weds, March 16th

McKillop Catholic College (4) def. Marrara Christian College (12)

Game 4 - Weds March 23rd

St Johns Catholic College (38) def. Good Shepherd Lutheran College (28)

Game 5 - Weds March 30th

McKillop Catholic College (32) def.  Palmerston Secondary School (28)

Game 6 - Weds April 13th

Marrara Christian College (62) v Good Shepherd Lutheran College (12)

Game 7 - Weds April 20th, 4.15pm

Taminmin College v St Johns Catholic College

Game 8 - Weds April 20th, 4pm

Katherine High School v Casuarina Senior College

Game 9 - Weds April 27th, 4pm

Marrara Christian College v Taminmin College

Game 10 - Thurs April 28th, TBC

Katherine High School v McKillop Catholic College 

Game 11 - Weds May 4th, 4pm

St Johns Catholic College v Palmerston Secondary School 

Game 12 - Weds May 11th, 4pm

Casuarina Senior College v Good Shepherd Lutheran College

Quarter Finals - Weds May 25th

Semi-Finals - Weds June 1st

Eels Cup Grand Final - Saturday June 11th, TIO stadium