You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The USA Tomahawks have announced their 19-man squad to face the Cook Islands at Bristol Memorial Stadium on Thursday morning, with Parramatta Eels utility Joseph Paulo as the captain.

Three American-based players have also been named in the side: Philadelphia player Michael Garvey, Hawaiian Loto Tagaloa and Southampton Dragons player Craig Priestly.

Sefa Paulo will start as five-eighth while his older brother and former Eels player Junior starts at prop.

NRL players Eddy Pettybourne, Clint Newton and Joel Luani will also make their first appearance with the Tomahawks.

Coach Terry Matterson said narrowing down his squad to a 19-man team was an arduous process due to the talent on offer.

"This was a really tough selection process," he said.

"With three games in eight days all of the squad will be needed with this tough schedule.

Here is their side:

1. Kristian Freed

2. Bureta Faraimo

3. Michael Garvey

4. Loto Tagaloa

5. Matt Petersen

6. Joseph Paulo (C)

7. Craig Priestly

8. Junior Paulo

9. Joel Luani

10. Eddy Pettybourne

11. Clint Newton

12. Matt Shipway

13. Daniel Howard

14. Tui Samoa

15. Mark Offerdahl

16. Stephen Howard

17. Les Soloai

18. David Marando

19. Judah Lavulo

The Tomahawks' final 17-man team list will be released one hour prior to kick off on Wednesday.

Click here to visit our World Cup hub with all the latest videos, photos and news from our players in the UK!
Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners