You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Dyldam Parramatta Eels Holden Cup side will take on the high-flying St George Illawarra Dragons in what will be a battle for outright second on the NYC ladder.

The Eels and Dragons, currently both sitting on 14 points on the table, are both looking to continue their strong starts to the season before both teams have a bye. 

The home side will be boosted by the return of Ryan Matterson and John Folau who were given the opportunity to play in the NSW Cup side last week. 

“To have them back for this game is a massive boost; both sides are running second for a reason,” Holbrook said. 

“We’re both good teams, and whoever wins goes into outright second which is motivation for both teams.”

Holbrook - who is coming up against his former club - says the Dragons are in good form and will be tough to beat.

“They’ve started this season great and have some really good players; a few played NSW 20s Origin and NSW 18s Origin the year before, so they’re a quality side but so are we and it’s going to be a great game.”

The Dragons have shown good defensive form this season, conceding the least points out of any side; while the Eels have shown their attacking flair, scoring the most points in Holden Cup after nine rounds.

Kick-off is at 10.40am on Saturday, as part of the triple header at Pirtek Stadium, ahead of the NSW Cup at 12.45pm and NRL kick-off at 3pm.

Click here to buy tickets and cheer on the Blue and Gold!

Dyldam Parramatta Eels Holden Cup:

1. Corey Makelim

2. Fabian Goodall

3. John Folau

4. Nathan Davis

5. Halauafu Lavaka

6. Ryan Matterson

7. Zach Dockar-Clay

8. Tepai Tepu-Smith

9. Kaysa Pritchard

10. Kelepi Tanginoa 

11. Tepai Moeroa

12. Eric Newbigging

13. Jeff Markus 


14. Joey Lussick

15. Fred Junior Mauala

16. Jordan Muna

17. Brandon Raeli


St George Illawarra Dragons Holden Cup:

1. Matt Dufty

2. Izaac Thompson

3. Euan Aitken

4. Brent Anderson

5. Sitiveni Moceidreke

6. Drew Hutchison

7. Adam Clune

8. Addin Fonua-Blake

9. Logan Harris

10. Jack Kavanagh

11. Wes Lolo

12. Jack Bird

13. Hame Sele

14. Vincent Stowers

15. Hayden McCrae

16. Harry Stewart

17. Dylan Lauri

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners