You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Dyldam Parramatta Eels second-rower Tepai Moeroa has this morning been named in the Holden Cup Team of the Year for 2014.

The honour caps off a break out year for 18-year-old Moeroa, who debuted in NRL in Round 18 against the New Zealand Warriors and has swiftly cemented a spot in the Eels' first-grade side. 

While playing both NYC and NRL in 2014, Moeroa has been completing a Certificate IV in Youth Work at Mount Druitt TAFE. Back in 2013, the promising young footballer also represented the Australian Schoolboys in rugby union, balancing his high school studies, rugby union and athletics at Sydney's Newington College. 

Eels Education and Welfare Officer Kevin Wise says Moeroa's achievements so far on the sporting and athletics fields are a testament to his dedication.

"He's always had that direction, that he wanted to play at an elite level, but also try and do his athletics as well," Wise said.

"It’s just unbelievable what he’s been able to do."

Holden Cup Team of the Year:

1. Jake Mamo (Newcastle Knights)

2. Valentine Holmes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

3. Sione Mata'utia (Newcastle Knights)

4. Brendan Elliot (Sydney Roosters)

5. Nene Macdonald (Sydney Roosters)

6. Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers)

7. Drew Hutchison (St George Illawarra Dragons)

8. Andy Saunders (Penrith Panthers)

9. Manaia Cherrington (Wests Tigers)

10. Sam Lisone (New Zealand Warriors)

11. Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm)

12. Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels)

13. Willis Meehan (Sydney Roosters)

14. Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights)

15. Joseph Tapine (Newcastle Knights)

16. Addin Fonua-Blake (St George Illawarra Dragons)

17. Kane Elgey (Gold Coast Titans)

Coach: Mick Crawley (Newcastle Knights)


Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners