You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

As the Blue and Gold touched down in Alice Springs today, Dyldam Parramatta Eels Head Coach Brad Arthur has named his starting side for Friday night's trial match against the Wests Tigers at ANZAC Oval.

And while the starting thirteen includes the names of established first-graders like Mannah, De Gois, Lussick and Gower, Arthur also confirmed the side that takes to the field against the Tigers will be missing up to 13 familiar faces.

Centre Brad Takairangi and halfback Chris Sandow are both expected to be fit for Round One of the Telstra Premiership Season, but will both miss the trial match through injury.

Second-rower Kenny Edwards and hooker Kaysa Pritchard have both undergone recent surgery and will be unavailable in the coming months, while fullback candidate Will Hopoate continues rehabilitation from a groin injury that ruled him out of the NRL Auckland Nines tournament and NRL All Stars side.

While Joseph Paulo joins the NRL All Stars in the Gold Coast, teammates Manu Ma’u, Anthony Watmough, Semi Radradra, Reece Robinson, Tepai Moeroa, Corey Norman and Nathan Peats will all be rested for Friday night’s Alice Springs trial match.

“This Friday will be our first trial match after the Nines, and it’ll give our forward pack a real opportunity to get some minutes under the belt,” Arthur said.

“On the one hand, some of the leaders in our side will miss the game, but that also gives the boys who have progressed into our squad from the Under 20s and some of the new guys a chance to put their hands up.”

“Injury-wise, we’ve had a rocky couple of weeks and we’re just making sure we have everyone as fit as possible for Round One,” Arthur added.

But in good news for the Blue and Gold Army, Hopoate, Paulo, Ma’u, Watmough, Radradra, Robinson, Moeroa, Norman and Peats are all on Arthur’s radar to pull on a jersey in the Eels’ second and final pre-season trial match against the Penrith Panthers on Saturday, February 21.

The Eels' Friday night trial match kicks off at 7.40pm at ANZAC Oval, click through for ticketing details!

Dyldam Parramatta Eels Alice Springs line-up:

1. Adam Quinlan

2. Halauafu Lavaka

3. Ryan Morgan

4. Beau Champion

5. Bureta Faraimo

6. Ryan Matterson

7. Luke Kelly

8. Tim Mannah

9. Isaac De Gois

10. Darcy Lussick

11. Pauli Pauli

12. Joseph Ualesi

13. David Gower


14. Ben Crooks

15. Vai Toutai

16. John Folau

17. Fabian Goodall

18. Zach Dockar-Clay

19. Richie Fa'aoso

20. Danny Wicks

21. Josh Aloiai

22. Junior Paulo

23. Cody Nelson

24. Peni Terepo

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners