You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Brett Crockford ©

At the 2015 Grand Final, the NRL farewelled its retiring players, including three of the Blue and Gold's own. 

Dyldam Parramatta Eels player #693, Richie Fa'aoso, player #700, Matt Keating, and player #766, Beau Champion, all joined the lap of honour ahead of the Grand Final clash between the North Queensland Cowboys and the Brisbane Broncos. 

All retiring players are presented with a bronzed boot in thanks for their contributions to the game during their career, while players leaving the Eels each season are acknowledged at the annual Ken Thornett Medal night.

The Grand Final farewells also included:


Grand Final captains Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos) and Clint Newton (Newcastle Knights), as well as David Stagg (Broncos), Frank Pritchard (Bulldogs), Glenn Hall (Cowboys), Bronson Harrison, Dan Hunt (Dragons), David Fa’alogo, Kurt Gidley (Knights), Nigel Plum, Sika Manu, Nathan Smith, David Simmons (Panthers), Bryce Gibbs (Sharks), Ben Lowe (Rabbitohs), Bryan Norrie, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs (Storm), Matthew Bell, Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers) and Sam Rapira (Warriors).

Not present on the day, but acknowledged by the NRL were former Eels Reni Maitua and Fuifui Moimoi, as well as Krisnan Inu (Bulldogs), Timana Tahu (Knights), David Williams (Sea Eagles), Brent Kite (Panthers), Terry Campese, Dane Tilse (Raiders), Glenn Stewart, Lote Tuqiri (Souths), Ben Roberts (Storm) and Brad Tighe and David Taylor (Titans).

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners