You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The NSWRL U/16s squad at camp. Photo: NSWRL

The Dyldam Parramatta Eels would like to congratulate Steve Dresler, Joshua Curran and Josh Carr who earlier this month, were named in the New South Wales U-18s Player Pathway whilst Stefano Utoikumanu, Wellington Seve, Cliff Lea'Aetoa and John Paul Nohra were named in the U-16s Player Pathway.

The young Blue and Gold, who are currently part of the Eels junior pathways system, took part in various NSWRL 2016 Pathway Program camps involving NSW VB Blues coach Laurie Daley, NSW Performance Development coach Brad Fittler and Blues legends Paul Sironen and Mark O’Meley.

The NSW legends put the attendees through an intense series of physical tests and on-field exercises as well as learning about the keys to success that come off the field. The NSW squad were also taught about the benefits of nutrition, health and well-being with educational workshops.

“They have been identified by the NSW Talent ID crew so it is a feather in their cap at this stage of the year and puts them in a good position,” Parramatta Eels staff Coordinator Recruitment - Elite Programs Anthony Field said of the Blue and Gold players selected.

“It is hoped the boys involved can take out all the ideals and principles that Brad Fittler tries to impose upon them, along with Jamie Feeney from the NSWRL and hopefully bring that back to the Parramatta Eels squad and install them within the team.”

The squads will form the Under 16/18s sides who will represent New South Wales in curtain-raiser games ahead of the Origin clashes in 2016 and Field said the next few months for the players were still important.

“The boys are currently in full preseason so they are training 3-4 days a week, with some Saturday mornings being involved. We have a trial on December 12th at Old Saleyards before going on another camp with the NSWRL Pathways.” Field said.

“It is early days, and the boys won’t play until June but they have to keep on their toes and keep themselves in that squad,” he added.

“Equally, I think we have some other kids coming through the Parramatta Eels system in the U16’s and U18’s that could very well find themselves within that team on game day.”

The NSWRL Pathway Programs has seen several current Blue and Gold squad members’ progress through the system, with the hope that the program provides great insight into the intensity and preparation required at a higher elite level of football.

“The likes of Alex Twal and Tyrell Fuimaono have recently progressed through the pathway, and they are now currently training with the NRL squad, but before that we have the likes of Pauli Pauli, Junior Paulo, Kelepi Tanginoa who all had the opportunity to go through that pathway system. “ Field said.

2016 Under-18s Player Pathways squad

John Hopoate Jnr – Manly, Luke Polselli – Manly, Cade Cust – Manly, Jaiden Tarrant – Manly, Brydon Ramien – Manly, Steve Dresler – Parramatta, Joshua Curran – Parramatta, Josh Carr – Parramatta, Will Kerr – Canterbury, Giordan Patea – Canterbury, Nick Cotric – Canberra, Sam Finnegan – Canberra, Jedidiah Simbiken – Canberra, Dylan O'Connor – Souths. Cameron Murray – Souths, Emre Guler – Souths, Campbell Graham – Souths, Mathew Croker – Newcastle, Matthew Cooper – Newcastle, Kurtis Dark – Newcastle, Brodie Jones – Newcastle, Brendan O’Hagan – Newcastle, Tom Starling – Newcastle, Reece Robson - St George, Daniel Stojanovski - St George, Samuel Radovu – Penrith, Ryan Papenhuyzen – Balmain, Moses Suli – Balmain, Lachlan Attwood – Balmain, Hosea Leuaa – Wests, Victor Radley – Roosters, Jaemon Salmon – Cronulla, Blayke Brailey – Cronulla, Kyle Flanagan – Cronulla, Chris Tupou – Cronulla, Luke Metcalf – Cronulla, Payne Haas - NZ Warriors, Harry Fitzhugh - Bilambil Jets, Sean Garner - QLD (Brisbane Broncos), Jai Whitbread - QLD (Brisbane Broncos), Luke Ingram - CRL - Greater Southern Division, Mitch Andrews - CRL - Western Division, Zac Saddler - CRL - Bidgee Bulls Division.

2016 Under-16s Player Pathways squad

Albert Hopoate – Manly, Max Lehmann – Manly, Stefano Utoikumanu – Parramatta, Wellington Seve – Parramatta, Cliff Lea'Aetoa – Parramatta, John Paul Nohra – Parramatta, Pessamino Pasina – Canterbury, Tommy Talau – Canterbury, Michael Fahd – Canterbury, Berat Kaya – Souths, Ky Bouris – Souths, Egan Butcher – Souths, Raine Dellow – Souths, Brock Gardiner – Newcastle, Matthew Smith – Newcastle, Pheonix Crossland – Newcastle, Harris Georgopoulos - St George, Lyndsay Smith – Penrith, Shawn Blore – Penrith, Dwaynne Fuimaono – Roosters, Mateo Tatola – Balmain, Reggie Alofipo – Balmain, Jalal Bazzaz – Illawarra, Ben Fulton – Illawarra, Isaac Longmuir – Cronulla, Kai Broadhurst – Cronulla, Bronson Xerri – Cronulla, Franklin Pele – Cronulla, Caleb Nicholls - GC Titans (Cyrill Connell), Liam Wilkinson - CRL – Newcastle Division, Brody Dooner - CRL – South Coast Division

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners