You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dyldam Parramatta Eels half Corey Norman in action against the Brisbane Broncos. Photo by nriphotos

The Dyldam Parramatta Eels kick off their 2016 NRL Telstra Premiership campaign against the Brisbane Broncos at Pirtek Stadium on Thursday 3 March.

Blue and Gold Head Coach Brad Arthur named his side earlier in the week, with the Eels set to feature five new faces in their Round One line up.

The 18 man squad features new recruits Michael Gordon, Michael Jennings, Clint Gutherson, Kieran Foran and Beau Scott who will be set to make their club debuts.

The Blue and Gold squad enters the Round One clash with plenty of external expectations, and face the challenge of the 2015 Grand Finalists to kick off their season.

With the Broncos recently returning from their 2016 World Club Series campaign against Wigan, the side will enter the clash with plenty of enthusiasm, eager to get back on their winning ways after a Grand Final defeat.

The Broncos will be without Lachlan Maranta and Jack Reed who have been ruled out through injury, however the side will feature two new recruits in English import Greg Eden and speedster James Roberts.

The Round One clash features plenty of mouth-watering match ups across the park.

The new-pairing of Blue and Gold halves Corey Norman and Kieran Foran, pending his assessment over the next 24 hours, will clash with Anthony Milford and Ben Hunt whilst the new left-edge pairing of Semi Radradra and Michael Jennings will go head to head with Roberts and Eden.

Eels winger Semi Radradra will celebrate his 50th NRL game.

Kick off is at 8:05pm with the game live on Channel 9 and FOX Sports. Click here to purchase your tickets to the game.


Match Details: Dyldam Parramatta Eels v Brisbane Broncos at Pirtek Stadium on Thursday March 3. Kick off at 8:05pm.

Televised: Channel 9 & Fox Sports, Live, 7:30pm (NSW).

The History:

Played 49; Brisbane 29, Parramatta 19, Drawn 1. The Broncos hold a strong record over the Eels at Pirtek Stadium, with 15 wins from their last 21 appearances. Whilst the last clash between the two sides saw the Broncos come away with a 28-16 victory at Suncorp Stadium, the Eels were victorious (19-18) in their last encounter at Pirtek Stadium in 2013.

Eels Squad:

1. Michael Gordon 2. Semi Radradra 3. Michael Jennings 4. Brad Takairangi 5. Clinton Gutherson 6. Corey Norman 7. Kieran Foran 8. Junior Paulo 9. Nathan Peats 10. Tim Mannah 11. Manu Ma'u 12. Beau Scott 13. Tepai Moeroa

Interchange: 14. David Gower 15. Peni Terepo 16. Daniel Alvaro 17. Kenny Edwards 18. Kaysa Pritchard

Broncos Squad:

1. Darius Boyd 2. Corey Oates 3. Jordan Kahu 4. James Roberts 5. Greg Eden 6. Anthony Milford 7. Ben Hunt 8. Josh McGuire 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Adam Blair 11. Alex Glenn 12. Matt Gillett 13. Corey Parker

Interchange: 14. Jarrod Wallace 15. Sam Thaiday 16. Jo Ofanhengaue 17. Kodi Nikorima

Match Officials:

Referees: Matt Cecchin, Alan Shortall; Sideline Officials: Brett Suttor, Nick Beashel; Video Referees: Luke Patten, Ashley Klein, Bernard Sutton.

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners