You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dyldam Parramatta Eels halfback Troy Dargan. Photo by Scott Davis

Congratulations to Dyldam Parramatta Eels Holden Cup players Troy Dargan, Alex Twal and Tyrell Fuimaono who were yesterday honoured in the 2016 Holden Cup Team of the Year.

The team was announced at the 2016 NRL Telstra Premiership Finals Series Launch at Allianz Stadium.

The Eels Holden Cup side play this Sunday (11 September) against the Wests Tigers in an Elimination Final at Allianz Stadium.

NRL Head of Football Brian Canavan said 90 percent of players who made the Holden Cup Team of the Year went on to play in the NRL.

“It’s become clear that the Holden Cup Team of the Year is a virtual preview of the next batch of NRL talent,” Mr Canavan said.

“In fact a number of this year’s team have already made their mark in the NRL.

“But just as important as their NRL statistics, I am also pleased to see the education and training that these players are undertaking.

“Last year’s Team of the Year included Tom Trjbojevic, Ashley Taylor, Te Maire Martin and Latrell Mitchell.

“I’m looking forward to see what this next group of players do in the NRL.”

This year’s team joins an honour roll that includes some of the NRL’s most talented stars, including Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Valentine Holmes, Daly-Cherry Evans, Ben Barba, Kieran Foran, Marika Koroibete, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Ben Matulino, Dane Gagai, Jesse Bromwich, Jason Taumololo, Shaun Fensom, Tariq Sims, Gareth Widdop, Ben Hunt, Trent Merrin, David Klemmer, Dylan Napa, James Segeyaro, Konrad Hurrell, Luke Brooks and Bryce Cartwright.

The 2016 Holden Cup Team of the Year is:

Position Player Club Studying
Fullback Kalyn Ponga North Queensland Cowboys Bachelor of Education, JCU
Wing Gideon Gela-Mosby North Queensland Cowboys Cert IV in Youth Work + Work
Centre Robert Jennings Penrith Panthers Cert III: Career Orientated Participation
Centre Nick Cotric Canberra Raiders HSC Erindale College
Wing Joseph Manu Sydney Roosters Cert III: Career Orientated Participation
Five-eighth Tyrone May Penrith Panthers Diploma: Social Science, Counselling + Teacher's Aide
Halfback Troy Dargan Parramatta Eels Bachelor Business & Property Management, WSU
Prop Alex Twal Parramatta Eels Bachelor Of Business & Commerce
Hooker Brandon Smith North Queensland Cowboys Building/Construction Labourer
Prop Oliver Clark Penrith Panthers Bachelor of Physiotherapy, ACU
Second-Row Luciano Leilua St George Illawarra Dragons Construction/Scaffolding Labourer
Second-Row Jaydn Su'A Brisbane Broncos Bachelor of Secondary Education, QUT
Lock Nat Butcher Sydney Roosters Diploma of Financial Planning
Interchange Jayden Brailey Cronulla Sharks Bachelor of Exercise & Sports Science, ACU
Interchange Matthew Dufty St George Illawarra Dragons Cert III Community Recreation
Interchange Tyrell Fuimaono Parramatta Eels Bachelor Business & Commerce, WSU
Interchange Dylan Edwards Penrith Panthers Bachelor of Health and Science
Coach Cameron Ciraldo Penrith Panthers  
Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners