You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Dyldam Parramatta Eels second rower Manu Ma’u has been awarded the 2016 Ken Thornett Medal as the NRL Players’ Player, at the club’s presentation evening at Curzon Hall tonight (Thursday 15 September).

The Ken Thornett Medal night recognised players from the NRL, Holden Cup and Intrust Super Premiership NSW Cup sides to mark the 2016 season. 

Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman John Grant and Parramatta Eels Chairman Max Donnelly also made tributes to recently passed Eels legend Ken Thornett.

Blue and Gold Head Coach Brad Arthur was named the recipient of the club’s prestigious Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year for his leadership of the club during 2016.

After over a thousand of votes from the Blue and Gold Members, Clint Gutherson was voted the Blue and Gold Army Members’ Player of the Year, while newly re-signed Eels hooker Issac De Gois was awarded the Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ Award.

After breaking the Eels record for most tries in a debut season, Bevan French received the Eric Grothe Senior NRL Rookie of the Year.

Dyldam Parramatta Eels 2016 Award Winners

Ken Thornett Medal for NRL Players’ Player - Manu Ma’u

Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ Award – Issac De Gois

Eric Grothe Senior NRL Rookie of the Year – Bevan French

Ray Price NRL Community Award - Tim Mannah

Blue and Gold Army Members’ Player of the Year – Clint Gutherson

Brett Kenny NYC Coaches’ Award – Jack Morris

Steven Ella NYC Players’ Player Award – Troy Dargan

Geoff Gerard NSW Cup Coaches’ Award – Cameron King

Bob O’Reilly NSW Cup Players’ Player Award - Sam Gorman

Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year – Brad Arthur

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners