You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Dyldam Parramatta Eels Clint Gutherson has been awarded the 2016 Blue and Gold Army Members’ Player of the Year Award at the prestigious Ken Thornett Medal (15 September 2015).

With the Blue and Gold Members submitting thousands of votes in the month’s lead up to the club’s presentation evening, Gutherson was a stand out in the polls, holding a lead over fellow teammates Manu Ma’u and Beau Scott.

Presented the Blue and Gold Army Members’ Award by Eels Ambassador Sarah Forster and Blue and Gold Member Mark Currie, Gutherson said he was honoured and proud to receive the award, especially after playing in his first season in the Blue and Gold.

“I am pretty proud to receive this [the Blue and Gold Army Members’ Award], especially from all the Members and fans,” Gutherson said.

“They turn up each week and they know what they are watching so they have an idea of what is going on.”

“It is a pretty big honour, my first season here as well,” he added.

“Hopefully I have won over a few of them this year, the first couple of rounds were pretty tough, but it was a good year and I would like to thank them all for coming out each week and showing us the support.”

With the Eels breaking their previous Members record, setting a club Membership record for the fourth consecutive season, with more than 23,032 Members joining the Blue and Gold Army in 2016, Gutherson thanked them for all their support.

“It was massive. We won a fair few games at Pirtek Stadium and a lot of them were real close, just one or two points in it.”Gutherson said.

“When it is that close, you rely on your fans to push you over the try line and it showed in the long run.”

With his eyes focus on 2017, Gutherson said that whilst he was happy with his on-field performance, there was still plenty to work on and he looked forward to being back in action next year.

“It was an up and down year for me. I just want to try and get a bit more consistent next year I think.”

“I am just really honoured to receive this award, especially in my first year here.”

“I am just happy.’

- Click here to see a full run down on all the 2016 Ken Thornett Medal winners.

Hear from Ken Thornett Medallist Manu Ma'u

Hear from NRL Rookie of the Year Bevan French

- See the Red Carpet Arrival Gallery

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners