You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Katherine High School have claimed their fourth consecutive Eels Cup, with a victory over St Johns Catholic College in the curtain-raiser match before the Eels v Cowboys clash at Darwin's TIO Stadium on  Saturday 10 June.

The Eels Cup is an Under 16s Secondary Schools Rugby League competition in the Northern Territory, which commenced in 2014 as part of the ongoing partnership between the Parramatta Eels and the Northern Territory Government.

Katherine High School are the reigning Eels Cup champions, having won the competition for the last four years running, in 2014-2017. 

In 2017, 8 schools competed for the NT Eels Cup with the Grand Final (Katherine High School v St Johns Catholic College) played as the curtain raiser match to the Eels v North Queensland Cowboys Round 15 clash at TIO Stadium in Darwin on Saturday 10 June.

The schools that competed were Mackillop Catholic College, Taminmin College, Palmerston College, St Johns Catholic College, Casuarina College, Good Shepherd Lutheran College, Katherine High School and Taminmin College.

The competition began in May and ran for six weeks before the Grand Final.

Plans are also underway to expand the Eels cup to include primary schools gala days in Katherine and Darwin as part of the Blue and Gold's commitment to grow the sport in #eelsterritory.

Click through for the full Around the Grounds gallery from the day.

St Johns Catholic College pictured below.

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners