You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sea Eagles v Eels Round Two Match Preview

Sea Eagles v Eels Round Two Team List

The Parramatta Eels will clash with the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles at Lottoland, Brookvale on Sunday 18 March in Round Two of the NRL Telstra Premiership. 

After suffering a 24-14 defeat to the Panthers last week, Blue & Gold Head Coach Brad Arthur has named the same 21 players in his squad to take on the Sea Eagles.

The Blue & Gold came out of the blocks quickly in Round One, building a 14-0 lead before the Panthers went on to score 24 unanswered points to claim the two points, and Brad Arthur will have the side looking to rebound from the first up loss.

The Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles also suffered a Round One defeat, going down to the Newcastle Knights in a 19-18 golden point thriller.

Sea Eagles Head Coach Trent Barett has called in Brad Parker into the centres to partner Brian Kelly, with Matthew Wright dropping back to the extended bench.

Utility Jackson Hastings and prop Lloyd Perrett have been called onto the bench with Lewis Brown and Frank Winterstein dropping back.

The last time these two sides met occurred at Manly’s Lottoland, but clash was over a year ago when the Blue & Gold came away 20-12 victors in Round One of the 2017 season.

Historically, the Sea Eagles hold the head to head advantage over the Eels, but the Blue & Gold have won all five previous meetings against their long term rivals with the Sea Eagles last claiming victory in 2013.

Kick off at Lottoland on Sunday 18 March is at 4:10pm.

Match Details: Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles v Parramatta Eels, Lottoland, Sunday 18 March.
Televised: Nine, Fox League, NRL Live Pass
Live Radio: Triple M, ABC 

Head-to-head: 137 games, Sea Eagles 82 wins, Eels 51 wins, 4 draws
Matches at the venue: 63 games, Sea Eagles 42 wins, Eels 20 wins, 1 draw
Last five games: Eels 5 wins
2017 matches: Eels beat Sea Eagles 20-12 in round 1
2017 points per game: Sea Eagles 23; Eels 20.7
2017 points conceded per game: Sea Eagles 21.3; Eels 19 

Manly: 1 Tom Trbojevic, 2 Jorge Taufua, 3 Brad Parker, 4 Brian Kelly, 5 Akuila Uate, 6 Lachlan Croker, 7 Daly Cherry-Evans (c), 8 Addin Fonua-Blake, 9 Apisai Koroisau, 10 Martin Taupau, 11 Joel Thompson, 12 Curtis Sironen, 13 Jake Trbojevic
Interchange: 14 Jackson Hastings, 15 Shaun Lane, 16 Lloyd Perrett, 17 Kelepi Tanginoa
Reserves: 18 Matthew Wright, 19 Lewis Brown, 20 Jack Gosiewski, 21 Frank Winterstein

Eels: 1. Bevan French, 2. Josh Hoffman, 3. Michael Jennings, 4. Jarryd Hayne, 5. Kirisome Auva’a, 6. Corey Norman, 7. Mitch Moses, 8. Tim Mannah (c), 9. Cameron King, 10. Daniel Alvaro, 11. Manu Ma’u, 12. Tepai Moeroa, 13. Nathan Brown.
Interchange: 14. Beau Scott (c), 15. Brad Takairangi, 16. Suaia Matagi, 17. Kane Evans
Reserves: 18. William Smith, 19. Kenneth Edwards, 20. David Gower, 21. Kaysa Pritchard. 

Match Officials: Main referee: Matt Cecchin, Assistant referee: Alan Shortall, Touch judges: Chris Sutton & Chris Butler 

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners