You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rabbitohs v Eels, Round 20 Match Preview

Parra Preview - Rabbitohs v Eels, Round 20

The Parramatta Eels take on the South Sydney Rabbitohs at ANZ Stadium on Saturday 28 July in Round 20 of the NRL Telstra Premiership.

Mitchell Moses will line up for his 100th NRL game after scoring a try in Parramatta's 14-8 win against the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs a round ago.

The 23-year-old halfback, a Parramatta junior, started his career at the Wests Tigers in 2014 and transferred to the Eels during the 2017 season.

Blue & Gold Head Coach Brad Arthur has shuffled the structure of the team for this clash, covering the injured George Jennings.

Filling the vacant left wing position is Jarryd Hayne, with utility Brad Takairangi slotting in at left centre.

Tepai Moeroa retains a starting spot in the second-row and David Gower comes in on the bench.

South Sydney is unchanged following a 22-6 defeat at the hands of the Wests Tigers.

It ended their nine-match winning streak on a day John Sutton became the first Rabbitoh to play 300 games for the club.

They are recognising four players against the Eels with NRL games played milestones; Adam Reynolds (150), Alex Johnston (100), Dane Gagai (150 last week) and Sutton.

Three of the last four clashes between these sides were won by the Eels. The loss was the most recent clash, a 42-24 score in Round 15.

It was a Jennings family outing as Michael, George and Robert were on the field at the same time.

Robert Jennings, the NRL's leader try scorer, scored four tries to erase the 14-6 lead the Eels had after 31 minutes.

Nathan Brown was man of the match against the Bulldogs last week, with his first 80-minute performance since Round 14.

He'll be playing his former club and going head-to-head with Sam Burgess.

A Parramatta win could place the Blue & Gold as high as 14th on the ladder.

This Saturday night clash will kick off at 5:30pm. Click through to get your tickets!

South Sydney Rabbitohs v Parramatta Eels, Saturday 5:30pm at ANZ Stadium

Rabbitohs: 1 Alex Johnston, 2 Campbell Graham, 3 Hymel Hunt, 4 Dane Gagai, 5 Robert Jennings, 6 Cody Walker, 7 Adam Reynolds, 8 Thomas Burgess, 9 Damien Cook, 10 George Burgess, 11 John Sutton, 12 Angus Crichton, 13 Sam Burgess
Interchange: 14 Adam Doueihi, 15 Cameron Murray, 16 Jason Clark, 17 Junior Tatola
Reserves: 18 Mark Nicholls, 19 Kyle Turner, 20 Dean Britt, 21 Braidon Burns

No changes.

Eels: 1 Clint Gutherson (c), 2 Bevan French, 3 Michael Jennings, 4 Brad Takairangi, 5 Jarryd Hayne, 6 Corey Norman, 7 Mitchell Moses, 8 Daniel Alvaro, 9 Kaysa Pritchard, 10 Siosaia Vave, 11 Marata Niukore, 12 Tepai Moeroa, 13 Nathan Brown
Interchange: 14 Reed Mahoney, 15 Tim Mannah (c), 16 David Gower, 17 Peni Terepo
Reserves: 18 Kane Evans, 19 Greg Leleisiuao, 20 Jaeman Salmon, 21 Suaia Matagi

David Gower returns on the bench replacing George Jennings in the 17, with Tepai Moeroa starting in the second row, Brad Takairangi moving from the bench to centre and Jarryd Hayne from centre to wing.

Head-to-head: Played 124; Rabbitohs 67 wins, Eels 54 wins, 3 draws
Previous result: Rabbitohs won 42-24 at ANZ Stadium in round 15

Matches at venue: Played 16; South Sydney 10, Parramatta 5, drawn 1
Points per game: Rabbitohs 23.9; Eels 14.8
Points conceded per game: Rabbitohs 17.1; Eels 22.2
Televised: Live on Nine, Fox League
Radio: 2GB, ABC

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners