You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Daniel Alvaro claims 2018 Ken Thornett Medal

Parramatta Eels forward Daniel Alvaro will finish his season strongly as he claimed the 2018 Ken Thornett Medal for Player of the Year and the Blue and Gold Army Player of the Year award at the club's presentation event tonight (Tuesday 28 August).

The Ken Thornett Medal night held at Rosehill Racecourse recognises players from the NRL, Jersey Flegg and Intrust Super Premiership NSW Cup sides to mark the 2018 season. 

A special presentation was made to Nathan Hindmarsh who was inducted into the Parramatta Eels Hall of Fame. Hindmarsh, a NSW and Australian representative, played his entire career at the Eels, and in 2010 broke the record for most games played at the club.

Eels winger George Jennings claimed the Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ award for best back in his Parramatta Eels debut season, while Peni Terepo was awarded the Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ award for best forward.

A special tribute was made to retiring player Beau Scott for his valuable contribution to the club and the NRL throughout his playing career.

Parramatta Eels club assistant Luke 'Tooks' Sammut was named the recipient of the prestigious Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year award for his strong support to the team during 2018.

The club also announced Chris Jurd would be awarded life membership of the Parramatta Eels in recognition of his dedicated contribution and service to the Parramatta Eels and the Parramatta Leagues Club. 

The Ray Price NRL Community award was presented to Parramatta Eels hooker Cameron King for his work as an ambassador for Northcott, a Parramatta Eels community partner.

A full list of award winners are below.

Parramatta Eels 2018 Award Winners
Ken Thornett Medal – Daniel Alvaro
Jack Gibson NRL Coaches' Award - Best Back - George Jennings 
Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ Award - Best Forward - Peni Terepo 
Ray Price NRL Community Award – Cameron King
Blue and Gold Army Player of the Year – Daniel Alvaro
Brett Kenny Jersey Flegg Coaches' Award - Sione Fonua
Steve Ella Jersey Flegg Player of the Year Award – Tuimavave Afualo
Geoff Gerard ISP Cup Coaches' Award – Matthew Woods
Bob O'Reilly ISP Cup Player of the Year Award - Ray Stone
Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year – Luke 'Tooks' Sammut
Hall of Fame Medal - Nathan Hindmarsh

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners