You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Eels to induct legend into Hall of Fame

On Tuesday 28 August, 2018, the Parramatta Eels will be inducting their latest Blue & Gold legend to their prestigious Eels Hall of Fame Legends honour list at their 2018 Parramatta Eels Ken Thornett Medal and Hall of Fame Gala dinner held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

A meeting was taken place in July 2018 to decide the latest 2018 Hall of Fame inductee/(s) after the following players and coach were nominated for the 2018 Hall of Fame award.

The 2018 Hall of Fame nominees were:

Nathan Hindmarsh
Played 330 games with the Parramatta Eels from 1998-2012
Played 23 games as an Australian Representative player from 2000-2009
Played 17 games as a NSW player from 2001-2010
Played 1 game as a NSW Country player in 2008
Played 2 games as a NRL All Stars player from 2011-2012
Played 3 games as a Prime Minister’s XIII player from 2005-2011 
Provan Summons medal: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011
Dally M Second Rower of Year: 2000, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2006
International Forward of the Year: 2004 

Luke Burt
Played 264 games with the Parramatta Eels from 1999-2012
Played 1 game as a NSW Country player in 2010
Played 1 game as a Prime Minister’s XIII player in 2011 
Head Coach of Parramatta Eels 2017 National Youth Competition 

John Monie
Coached 149 games for the Parramatta Eels from 1984-1989 

Terry Fearnley
Coached 101 games for the Parramatta Eels from 1976–1979 

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame award, the eligibility rules were as follows:

  1. A player must have been retired for five (5) seasons to be eligible.
  2. Eligibility is open to players, coaches and officials.
  3. Each candidate is judged on performances and contribution to the club.
  4. Players/Coaches:  A candidate must have played or coached a minimum 75 first grade games for the Eels or have represented the club in a first grade grand final or won a major award while at the club or played for Australia from the club.

Officials:  A candidate must have been involved in Eels administration for over 10 years.

The Eels will announce their latest inductee on Tuesday 28 August 2018.

Please see the current Eels Hall of Fame legends list below.

Champion of Parramatta:
Michael Cronin OAM (elevated 2014) 

Eels Hall of Fame Legends:
Ken Thornett (inducted 2002)
Neville Glover (inducted 2002)
Michael Cronin OAM (inducted 2002)
Steve Ella (inducted 2002)
Eric Grothe (inducted 2002)
Brett Kenny (inducted 2002)
Peter Sterling OAM (inducted 2002)
Ray Price OAM (inducted 2002)
Peter Wynn (inducted 2002)
Dick Thornett (inducted 2002)
Bob O’Reilly (inducted 2002)
Steve Edge (inducted 2002)
Dean Pay (inducted 2002)
Jack Gibson OAM (inducted 2002)
Ron Lynch (inducted 2003)
Billy Rayner (inducted 2004)
Brian Hambly (inducted 2005)
Ron Hilditch (inducted 2006)
Barry Rushworth (inducted 2007)
Denis Fitzgerald AM (inducted 2008)
Ian Johnston (inducted 2009)
Geoff Gerard (inducted 2010)
Ray Higgs (inducted 2011)
Jack Argent (inducted 2014)
Nathan Cayless (inducted 2014)


Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners