You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Gutherson, Moses & Brown named in Australia's Nines squad

Eels Clint Gutherson, Mitch Moses and Nathan Brown have been named in Australia’s Nines squad, alongside a lot of the NRL's young guns.

The Australian Rugby League Commission announced the squad today to represent the Australian Men’s Nines Team in the upcoming Downer Rugby League World Cup 9s, at Bankwest Stadium on October 18-19.

Nines squad: Josh Addo-Carr, Jai Arrow, AJ Brimson, Nathan Brown, Kyle Feldt, Tyson Frizell, Reuben Garrick, Wade Graham, Clint Gutherson, Ben Hunt, Mitchell Moses, Ryan Papenhuyzen, Kalyn Ponga, Curtis Scott, Cody Walker.

Australian Coach Mal Meninga congratulated all of the players on their selection in the squad.

“This is an exciting squad of players and I can’t wait to see what they can do in this format,” Meninga said.

“We have some experienced Kangaroos representatives but we also have some players who have never represented Australia before.

“It will be fantastic to see these players all these players in the green and gold and on this stage.

“Nines is a fantastic innovation and this group of players have been picked with this form of the game in mind – but also with a view to seeing what a number of them can do in an Australian jumper.”

The Kangaroos squad to face New Zealand and Tonga in Test Matches has also been named.

The Kangaroos, who will once again be captained by Sydney Roosters skipper Boyd Cordner, will play the Kiwis on October 25 at WIN Stadium in Wollongong, followed by Tonga at Eden Park on November 2.

Kangaroos squad: Josh Addo-Carr, Daly Cherry-Evans, Damien Cook, Boyd Cordner, Nick Cotric, Tyson Frizell, Wade Graham, Payne Haas, Ben Hunt, Luke Keary, David Klemmer, Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Munster, Cameron Murray, Josh Papalii, James Tedesco, Jake Trbojevic, Paul Vaughan, Jack Wighton.

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners