You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Gower recognised for selflessness towards other players

Parramatta Eels forward David Gower has taken out the Dennis Tutty gong at the Rugby League Players Association awards night.

The award recognises his outstanding commitment to his fellow players and to the advancement and protection of players' rights.

His teammate, Eels winger Maika Sivo, also got a nod during the night and was named in The Players' 13 Dream Team.

Both Gower and Sivo have both enjoyed a season to remember.

Sivo made his NRL debut in Round One and exceeded all expectations.

The 26-year-old finished the year as the NRL’s leading try scorer with 22 tries to his name.

136 game veteran Gower excelled on and off the park.

He became the first professional Australian athlete to complete a Certificate IV in Elite Athlete Wellbeing Management.

The 34-year-old is currently holidaying with his family, but took to Instagram saying he is “extremely humbled to win the award.”

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco took out the top gong; The Players' Champion award, as voted by his peers.

RLPA Award Winners

  • NRL Players' Champion: James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)
  • NRLW Players' Champion: Jessica Sergis (St George Illawarra)
  • Dennis Tutty Award: David Gower (Parramatta)
  • Rookie of the Year: Payne Haas (Brisbane)

The Players' 13 Dream Team

James Tedesco, Maika Sivo, Latrell Mitchell, Will Hopoate, Daniel Tupou, Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans, Payne Haas, Cameron Smith, Josh Papalii, John Bateman, Kenny Bromwich, Jake Trbojevic.

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners