You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

On the back of record female participation numbers, the Parramatta Junior League has introduced a Female Player of the Year Award to inspire our growing number of female players to be the standout player and person across our District.


The Award is open to all female players aged 12 years or older and Clubs were asked to nominate a player who has made a significant impact or contribution to their team and the players they play with.


At its Board Meeting on Tuesday night, the Parramatta Junior League Board of Management selected the winner of this Award and all other Awards from nominations received.


Of significance, the Female Player of the Year Award needed to be named and the Board of Management unanimously agreed that it should be named to honour the contribution of Jan Bryen to the Parramatta Junior League.


Bryen was the recipient of both the Eels Women In League Award and NSWRL Volunteer of the Year award in 2011, the Michael Cronin Award Club Person of the Year Award in 2014 and in 2017 she became and remains the only female Life Member of the Parramatta Eels.


She has worked, on a strictly volunteer basis, throughout her distinguished Rugby League career, in multiple roles:


General Committee of Fairfield Patrician Brothers JRLFC, then as Assistant Secretary and then Secretary for the Club, culminating in Life Membership in 2000
Parramatta Junior Rugby League Club Advisory Committee before going on to be Assistant Secretary then Treasurer of the Parramatta Junior Rugby League Board from 2003 to 2022, culminating in Life Membership of the Parramatta District Convents Rugby League Association.


For the past 12 years, Bryen has volunteered in the Junior League Office as the Junior League Assistant.


Jan remains on the Parramatta Junior League Board of Directors, continues in her Junior League Assistant role checking that all the Coaches, Managers and Trainers have all been registered and have all got cleared working with children checks, and on weekend’s she is “around the grounds” helping our new Manager’s to fill in the score sheets and ensuring Coaches and Trainers are compliant with the rules of the District.


It's male equivalent, the Phillip Carey Memorial Award, has been presented since 1983 and in that time 10 recipients have gone on to play NRL for the Parramatta Eels. The Jan Bryen Award aims to be the springboard for our local female talent to progress to the NRLW.


The Parramatta Junior League Presentation Night will soon take place to recognise and acknowledge the excellence of our Volunteers, Coaches, Players and Clubs throughout the 2023 season.

Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners