You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Seven Eels selected in PM's XIII

Seven players from the Parramatta Eels' NRLW team have been selected in the Prime Minister's XIII to play in Papua New Guinea next week.

The team, selected by Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, will face the Papua New Guinea PM's XIII in Port Morseby on Saturday, 23 September.

The Eels contingent is headlined by Kennedy Cherrington, who has been named as Australia's vice captain having represented the Jillaroos during last year's World Cup win. Cherrington has established herself as a 70-minute player in the middle for Parramatta this season, her first as Co-Captain of the Club.

She is by joined by six Eels teammates, all of whom will pull on a Green and Gold jersey for the first time at a senior level.

Her fellow Eels Captain, classy halfback Rachael PearsonĀ will run out for Australia after representing the NSW Sky Blues for the past two seasons.

Abbi Church earns a call-up on the back of her outstanding season at fullback for the Eels, while Rueben Cherrington is selected after establishing herself as Parramatta's first-choice hooker.

Boom youngster Cassey Tohi-Hiku, who was called up to the NSW Origin squad earlier this year, is a worthy inclusion following several standout displays.

Indigenous duo Kimberley Hunt and Taneka Todhunter will also make the trip to PNG after breaking into the NRLW this season. Hunt has scored five tries in her past four matches, while Todhunter has been explosive off the bench since being promoted to the side.

The seven Eels representatives will play alongside the likes of Tallisha Harden, Botille Vette-Welsh and Teagan Berry in an exciting Australian team.

Australian Women's PM's XIII

  • Teagan Berry (Dragons)
  • Kennedy Cherrington, vice capt. (Eels)
  • Rueben Cherrington (Eels)
  • Abbi Church (Eels)
  • Keisha-Leigh Coolwell (Broncos)
  • Quincy Dodd (Sharks)
  • Kayla Fleming (First Nations Gems)
  • Tallisha Harden, capt. (Cowboys)
  • Kimberley Hunt (Eels)
  • Emma Manzelmann (Cowboys)
  • Jasmin Morrissey (First Nations Gems)
  • Rachael Pearson (Eels)
  • Christian Pio (Wests Tigers)
  • China Polata (Cowboys)
  • Tiana Raftstrand-Smith (Cowboys)
  • Taneka Todhunter (Eels)
  • Cassey Tohi-Hiku (Eels)
  • Botille Vette-Welsh (Wests Tigers)
  • Jakiya Whitfeld (Wests Tigers)
  • Janelle Williams (Raiders)
Acknowledgement of Country

Parramatta Eels respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Sponsor

Premier Partners

View All Partners